Do I need a CCTV Licence?

This section is to discuss anything related to the Security Industry

Moderators: Bulldog, Big Paul, karlbee, hippy, Door Bitch, Boz

Do I need a CCTV Licence?

Postby Taylor33 » 08 Feb 2011, 08:35

I already have a SIA Door supervisor Licence which expires next year and i have attended CRO1 + CRO2 CCTV training courses with qualifications. Do I need to apply for a SIA CCTV Licence or am i already covered with what i already hold?
Taylor33
WTD Rookie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 09:33

Re: Do I need a CCTV Licence?

Postby leither » 08 Feb 2011, 09:11

you will need to get a CCTV licence if that is what you want to do.

attending a course doesnt mean you are licenced unfortunately.

and you would need to renew your DS licence if you wanted to keep doing that side of things as well as they are different sectors and dont cross over
leither
WTD Head Door Supervisor
 
Posts: 654
Joined: 30 Aug 2008, 18:16
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Do I need a CCTV Licence?

Postby Ray84 » 08 Feb 2011, 09:46

If you have one license, I heard that the second one you apply for is half price. Then when you apply for renewal of DS, as you have CCTV, that'll be half price too
Ray84
WTD Rookie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 20:50

Re: Do I need a CCTV Licence?

Postby Gillie » 08 Feb 2011, 12:59

Ray84 wrote:If you have one license, I heard that the second one you apply for is half price. Then when you apply for renewal of DS, as you have CCTV, that'll be half price too


Half correct if you hold for example a DS licence then apply for a CCTV that would come out at half price, however upon renewing your DS it would be FULL PRICE as your primary badge the secondary remaining the CCTV. Now if you were to let your DS elapse and required to renew your CCTV it would then be full price.

SIA were never going to be that generous! :twisted:

I personally would check if your role requires a CCTV licence and if not forget it unless it's something your progressing to.
Gillie
WTD Head Door Supervisor
 
Posts: 746
Joined: 27 Jul 2007, 15:05
Location: North West

Re: Do I need a CCTV Licence?

Postby Taylor33 » 10 Feb 2011, 06:57

Cheers for the replies, probably look into getting a second licence, thanks
Taylor33
WTD Rookie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 09:33


Return to Security Related Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 4 guests